You are here

November 14th, 2014 Minutes

Native American Caucus E- Board Meeting / Minutes


Hyatt Mission Bay


November 14, 2014


  • 1. Meeting was called to order at 6:05 pm by Chairman Masiel Sr.


  • 2. Blessing


  • 3. Motion to approve the minutes from the March 7, 2014 convention meeting and the July 11, 2014 e-board was made/ seconded and passed.


  • 4. Treasurer report was read by Debra Broner. Bank balance of $4,741.17 Room for the July E-board rent was $335. No other activity reported. motion was made to approve the treasurer report / seconded and passed


  • 5. Update on the “State of Native American Issues” by Chairman Masiel Sr.
  1. Informed the members on Prop 48
  2. Native American Woman , Suzan Harjo was 1 of 19 people to receive the Medal of Freedom award from President Obama. Suzan Harjo is Cheyenne and Hodulgee Muscogee. She is a writer,curator activist and a advocate for improving the lives of Native people.
  3. Judge Sunshine Suzanne Sykes won her re-election. Judge Sykes was appointed by Governor Brown and is the first Native American Judge appointed in Riverside County. 
  4. Vacancy on the Riverside Board of Supervisors, Rose Salgado has applied to Governor Brown for the appointment. Ms. Salgado is a Soboba Tribal Council Member.
  5. Motion to write a letter opposing the appointment of Jeronimo Garcia to the Los Angeles City / County Native American Indian Commission. The motion was seconded and passed.



  • 6. Ferguson Resolution was tabled. Mary Ellen Early informed the caucus members the DNC passed a similar resolution.


  • 7. Dues - second reading of change in bylaws to increase the “sponsorships” to the NAC to a maximum of $5,000. Motion was made to support the change, seconded and passed. Regular members dues still remain at $15. per year with the option of paying a higher dues amount (voluntary) up to $5,000.


  • 8. Items from the caucus floor - Congratulated Chair Andrew Masiel Sr. and Corrina Garbani Sanchez on their re-election to the Pechanga Tribal Council 

Congratulated Vice- Chair Mary Ann Andreas on receiving the Dragonfly “high-soaring achievement”award . Mary Ann is the Vice- Chair of the Morongo Band of Mission Indians. Mayme Hubert spoke to the caucus members about the CDP bylaw changes to voted on at the Sunday general session.